See the skills in the portal and add them to your profile
Your organization develops a list of skills that are important, and can associate the skills with job titles, courses and learning journeys.
When portal permissions allow, learners can add skills to their own profiles, and declare their own skill levels.
Availability: depends on your LearnUpon plan
Access permissions
- all admins: have full access to this feature
- all learners with permissions: can view and add skills manually to their own profiles
Viewing skills
When portals include skills, learners can view their skills, including:
- skills associated with their job title. Admins can set the Expected skill level for a given job title
- skills achieved through courses and learning journeys, that help learners meet Expected skill levels
- skills assigned directly to learners by admins, or by their manager
- optionally: skills declared by learners, with proficiency set by the learner
. For a large volume of skills, you can search for skills, or use 1 or more filters:
- Verified - an on/off filter
- Current proficiency - refers to the proficiency levels, either default or customized to the organization
-
Attainment method - one of
- Course completed
- Admin recorded
- Self-declared
- Manager recorded
- Learning journey
You can also sort skills by:
- Latest attainment
- Oldest attainment
- Skill name (A-Z)
- Skill name (Z-A)
The following screenshot shows a sample learner's My profile page with Skills displayed.
Skills marked Expected have an expected skill level associated with the learner's Job Title.
Add skills to your profile
When portal permissions allow, learners can update their own skills and track their skills development from their user profile.
See Skills: set up skills verification for your portal
Skills that learners add to their own profile are labelled Self recorded.
Learners can also edit their proficiency levels in each skill, as required. The following screenshot shows a learner’s Skills > Add skills feature, with 3 skills selected, and the proficiency setting, before saving the results.
Note: learners can only add skills already defined for the portal by the admin. They cannot define their own skills from scratch.
A learner's profile is always accessible.
- From the top navigation select the roundel with your initials or photo > your name and identifier to access My profile.
- From My profile select Skills > Add skills.
- From the Skills dropdown, select skills as required.
- Drag the slider to set a proficiency for each skill.
- Save to finish.
Adjust self-declared skills
Learners can make changes to proficiency levels for their self-declared skills.
Adjust current proficiency
- From the top navigation select the roundel with your initials or photo > your name and identifier to access My profile.
- From My profile select Skills.
- For a given skill select More (aka 3-dot menu) > Adjust current proficiency.
- In the dialog that opens, select and drag the slider to a new location.
- Save to finish.
The following screenshot shows the Adjust current proficiency dialog.
Clear current proficiency
Learners can remove their current proficiency level from a self-declared skill.
For self-declared skills: the learner can then delete the skill entirely.
For skills that are self-declared and also assigned to learners, the skill remains on their profile with no proficiency shown. Learners can record a new proficiency if required.
The assigned skill retains any expected proficiency level assigned to it.
- From the top navigation select the roundel with your initials or photo > your name and identifier to access My profile.
- From My profile select Skills.
- For a given skill select More (aka 3-dot menu) > Clear current proficiency.
- In the dialog that opens, select Clear.
The skill moves to the bottom of the list of skills.
Remove a self-declared skill
Learners can delete self-declared skills only. This step removes the proficiency associated with the skill. It does not affect learners' enrollments or their training history.
Learners can add the skill again later, as required.
For skills that are both self-declared and assigned to them, learners can remove the proficiency for a skill but cannot remove the skill itself..
- From the top navigation select the roundel with your initials or photo > your name and identifier to access My profile.
- From My profile select Skills.
- For a given skill select More (aka 3-dot menu) > Remove skill.
- In the dialog that opens, select Remove.
See: