You can archive a published course when you don’t need it anymore. Archiving a course means:
- the course is no longer available for new enrollments
- you retain access to enrollment histories
- you can filter it out of course exports
This feature is available to all customers.
Archiving a course: overview
When you archive a published course, LearnUpon removes the course from the internal catalog, and from the list of courses available for enrolling new learners.
Learners who are already enrolled can complete the course, including learners in Not Started status.
For learners who need to recertify on courses: archiving a course ends the course's recertification workflow. If learners must keep their certifications up to date, make sure you either set up a new course with certificates, or create a new version of the course instead.
Note: When part of a learning path, learners retain access to an archived course.
If the course is part of a learning path, the learners already enrolled can finish the course and the path. You can continue new enrollments on the learning path, even with an archived course.
This same option - accessing an archived course through a learning path - is available when you re-version a course to update it with new content. See Publish a new version of a course.
Archiving is available only for published courses. You can delete courses in Draft status, without needing to archive them.
Warning: Archiving is a permanent step. You can’t restore a course from Archived status. Make certain you select the correct course to archive.
Licensed courses and course archiving
When you license a course from a top-level portal to a sub-portal, the license controls access to the course in the sub-portal. See Sub-portals: license a course for background.
When you archive a licensed course in your top-level portal:
- the license remains in your portal’s list of licensed courses. A red dot shows the license is not in use
- LearnUpon immediately removes the achived course from the sub-portal’s list of courses
The following screenshot shows 2 licensed courses from Portals & Licenses > Licenses. The second course with the red dot is archived.
Course categories and archiving
When you archive a course - either automatically when creating a new version, or manually - LearnUpon removes any category labels applied to the course.
Categories are search tools to help learners find items in the internal catalog, and in the online store.
Tip: To use the same categories regularly - for the next course version, or to label similar related courses - keep a list of your categories outside LearnUpon, so you can apply them again.
This feature is available to people who create and edit courses: admins, instructors and managers with instructor permissions.
How to archive a course
- From main navigation go to Courses > my course name.
- From Actions, select Archive course.
- In the confirmation dialog that opens, select Yes.
When complete, the course appears in Courses, marked Archived.
The following screenshot shows the confirmation dialog for this step, for a sample course on a learning path. The text reads:
You’re about to archive this course which is part of the following learning path(s): your learning path name
Please note that all learners enrolled on this course will retain their current status and will be able to finish the course?
Do you want to continue? Yes / No
Filter by course status in a course export
See Courses: export course settings from a portal for instructons about exporting a CSV of all course settings.
In the exported CSV, filter the entries by Status to remove the Archived versions of courses.